

## **SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE**

# REPORT NO. 12 - 18 SEPTEMBER 2018

#### MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC, Chair

The Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC, Deputy Chair

The Hon Robert Brown MLC

The Hon Trevor Khan MLC

Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC

The Hon Mark Pearson MLC

The Hon Dr Peter Phelps MLC

Mr David Shoebridge MLC

The Hon Lynda Voltz MLC

#### Secretariat to the committee:

Ms Beverly Duffy, Clerk Assistant —Procedure (02 9230 3367)

Mr Ben Foxe, Principal Council Officer —Procedure (02 9230 3464)

### SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

The Selection of Bills Committee met on Tuesday 18 September 2018 at 1.15 pm to consider whether the following bills should be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report:

- Children (Education and Care Services) Supplementary Provisions Amendment Bill 2018
- Criminal Procedure Amendment (Pre-trial Disclosure) Bill 2018
- Emergency Services Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
- RSL NSW Bill 2018
- Strata Schemes Management Amendment (Building Defects Scheme) Bill 2018
- Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Amendment (Marine Plastics Reduction) Bill 2018

The committee makes the following recommendations:

- 1. That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report, this day:
  - (a) Children (Education and Care Services) Supplementary Provisions Amendment Bill 2018
  - (b) Criminal Procedure Amendment (Pre-trial Disclosure) Bill 2018
  - (c) Emergency Services Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
  - (d) RSL NSW Bill 2018
  - (e) Strata Schemes Management Amendment (Building Defects Scheme) Bill 2018
  - (f) Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Amendment (Marine Plastics Reduction) Bill 2018

#### 2. That:

- (a) the Road Transport Legislation Amendment (Penalties and Other Sanctions) Bill 2018 be referred to the Standing Committee on Law and Justice for inquiry and report,
- (b) the bill be referred to the committee upon the conclusion of the second reading debate but before the question is put, and
- (c) that the committee report by Tuesday 25 September 2018.

Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC **Chair** 

18 September 2018